Fifth Wednesday Journal Announces the winners of the Editor’s Prize for 2011

FWJ does not sponsor contests or offer prizes based on reading fees. However, we do select from the work published in FWJ one short story, one poem, and one photograph each year to receive our Editor’s Prize. The author of these “winning” contributions receives a modest monetary award. The selections are made by independent judges in each category. We are happy to include in this newsletter this year’s choices.;

Jonis Agee ( was chosen for her short story, “The Plane of Primary Focus,” which appeared in the fall 2010 issue. She is the author of thirteen books. Her most recent novel is The River Wife (Random House, 2007). The judge was Edie Meidav (, whose latest novel Lola, California, was released in July from Farrar, Straus & Giroux.

Norman Lock ( was chosen for his poem “Alphabet of Eels,” which appeared in the fall 2010 issue. He is the author of many novels, collections of poetry, and plays. His most recent publication is Pieces for Small Orchestra and Other Fictions, released by Spuyten Duyvil in April of this year. The judge for poetry was Natania Rosenfeld (Natania_Rosenfeld’s web page) associate professor of English at Knox College in Galesburg, Illinois. Her fiction and poetry have appeared in many literary publications. She has received three fellowships from the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts for work on essays and fiction.

Jessica Hubbard Marr was selected for her photograph “The Gaze (London, 2010)” which appeared in the spring 2011 issue. She is currently completing her master’s degree in photography at Sotheby’s Institute of Art in London. She spent two years living and working in Oaxaca de Juarez, Mexico. The judge was Jeff Curto ( Coordinator and Professor of Photography at College of DuPage in Glen Ellyn, Illinois. He holds a master of fine arts degree from Bennington College in Vermont. He attended Ansel Adams’s last workshop in Carmel, California in 1983.

FWJ editors

Post a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *